Lament (PB $20) is the story of Dee, a talented but nervous harpist and part-time ice cream scooper. She also happens to be a cloverhand – a human who can see faeries. In between bouts of stage fright and despite her mother’s strict rules, Dee is blown away when she meets the irresistible Luke. What with the continuous stream of four leaf clovers and mysterious iron jewellery that follow him, it doesn’t take Dee long to figure out there is something otherworldly, something sinister afoot. Luke is forbidden to tell Dee anything about himself but as Dee discovers her incredible gifts, the pair realise he doesn’t have to. Unbelievable though it is, Dee can simply read Luke’s mind. But perhaps delving into a past, a world, like Luke’s is not such a good idea…

This new series, Books of Faerie, from Maggie Stiefvater is sure to keep fans of her best-selling The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy [Shiver (PB $20), Linger (HB $30), with Forever to come] more than happy!

Great entertaining summer reading. Recommended for girls 13+


About fairfieldbooksonstation
Fairfieldbooks is at 117a Station Street in Fairfield, Melbourne. Different staff will post reviews and news on this blog regularly. If you would like to receive either our adult or children's books newsletters or our crime quarterly, let us know at You can follow us on Twitter @ and we have just joined Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: